Animaux | UK

Nuage – ‘Wild’ Review


A follow-up to his 2015 widely acclaimed album ‘Neida’, St. Petersburg’s Nuage has devoted a year of complex production and travel to the opposing ends of the earth to create the seemingly complete and more mature LP Wild on the consistently marvellous Project Mooncircle label.

Wild, in many ways, contrasts and challenges itself, often in the same moment. Starting track ‘Occur’ eases in with a strong and ambient introduction; the album continues to flit between feelings of warmth, world and leftfield-tinged instrumentals that breathe fresh remnants of summer, and cooler climates, delving downtempo; the first frost of winter is just about as crisp. Nuage at times comprises self-styled drum and bass, yet at others indicates brisk moments of tribal origins, broken beats and deep house rudiments.

Wild by name, Wild by nature – in its entirety, the album expresses several boundaries of mood, playfully explores within and often merges each limit. ‘Arrival’ immerses and dreamily gravitates, while ‘Habitat’ combines cut up vocals with a deeper bass, with a classic synth sample and joyful fleckles of organic instruments. The album is stunningly vocalic throughout, still keeping itself to a lofty signature, rolling up and down, in boundless kaleidoscopic motion.

You can buy vinyl, digital or stream it by clicking here.

[Review] Rain Dog – There Be Monsters


The gasp of a disbelieving woman begins a wondrous voyage through There Be Monsters, Rain Dog’s second full-length venture. As a pretty lengthy project, There Be Monsters is altogether an expedition that tinkers on the verge of consciousness. “What should I see?” another voice calls out in My Hands Make Shapes, the first track of sixteen. Post-step sounds echo and commence the journey from an imaginary dark space. The album in its very first moments of life draws parallels to standing on the edge of an unknown mental obscureness and taking the first steps to go inside.

There Be Monsters has been crafted to play out in its entirety, telling a story filled with personal experience. The second track, Loneliness Is Not A Function Of Solitude plays key to the intimate concepts behind the album. It’s textured, vigorous synth combines with soft percussion and punctuated beats. The title is a memorable quote from Infinite Jest by David Foster-Wallace; a dystopic novel that blurs lines with the idea that the remedy for loneliness is in fact seclusion, or better put, solitude.

Rain Dog

There’s an ever-present appreciation for the relationship between words and music in There Be Monsters. A poetic intermission with a linger sentiment draws into Choreoathetoid. Choreoathetoid is a struggle between light and dark, incorporating organic and electronic elements as well as well-fitted vocals. Who Do You Love? springs from garage roots, sliding deep into thoughtful and unearthly down-tempo ambience in the later track, Eyes On The Aether.

Hierlera strips away broken beats and synth patterns to a raw and haunting instrumental, before launching into the final part of the album’s expedition. Intensity creeps in throughout the last few tracks. The final chapter kicks off with a 2-step pace and an enduring amount of purring bass from the aptly named Tahiti (Take Me To Infinity), culminating with In Your Arms, a superlunary refix of Laurie Anderson’s Superman.

Throughout integrally downbeat and illusory, There Be Monsters is a clever and precious piece. Released as a limited, marbled vinyl, it’s befalls as a sensory gem. Featuring collaborations with Finn Ryder and Monsoonsiren, it’s a celestial body that embraces curiosity and the darker parts of our mind.

Check out Project Mooncircle to get it.

Aphex Twin is releasing a new album – “Syro”


After leaving many Londoners and fans guessing about the mysterious blimp that flew over London just a few days ago, Aphex Twin finally revealed that “Syro” – his new album, is in the works!

Aphex Twin's blimp over London

Speculation ran wild among fans over at Reddit and 4chan as well as many other social media sites and today he finally tweeted a deep web link which leads to a supposed tracklist:

01 minipops 67 (source field mix)
02 XMAS_EVET10 (thanaton3 mix)
03 produk 29
04 4 bit 9d api+e+6
05 180db_
06 CIRCLONT6A (syrobonkus mix)
07 fz pseudotimestretch+e+3
08 CIRCLONT14 (shrymoming mix)
09 syro u473t8+e (piezoluminescence mix)
10 PAPAT4 (pineal mix)
11 s950tx16wasr10 (earth portal mix)
12 aisatsana

This is not all, however, as this anonymous post on 4chan reveals that there might be another album coming from him as well as an album from Clark.

Personally I am very excited and hope that all of these rumours and speculation are true and we get another masterpiece. Fingers crossed!